This initiative is designed to recognize and celebrate the Young Leaders throughout the Saskatchewan Credit Union System who inspire us. 

You may ask, who is eligible for these awards?  Great question!  Nominees must be between the ages of 18 to 35  OR  their years of experience in the financial services field plus age does not exceed 40 years.  Current SYL committee members are not eligible. 

We encourage you to nominate anyone that you believe fit in any of these four categories:

The Leadership Award

This award recognizes young leaders who excel in empowering people through inspiration, commitment and honest interactions of the highest quality.  

The Community Involvement Award

This award recognizes young leaders in the Credit Union system that have demonstrated an unyielding dedication to their communities through various volunteer efforts and are a testament to our collective concern for all of the communities where we live, work and enjoy. 

The Innovation and Collaboration Award

This award recognizes young leaders who love team work and are intensely curious and creative. Seeking to understand the “why”, challenge the status quo and invent new and unique ways to support our members, each other and the Credit Union System.   

The Member Impact Award

This award recognizes young leaders who have made a meaningful difference for a member of their Credit Union. Through their genuine and sincere interactions, they have made a lasting impression and significant impact in the life of their member.  

It’s hard to believe that our 2019 Retreat and Inaugural 2019 Young Leader Inspiration Awards were almost a month ago! Time flies!

That being said, we wanted to quickly send out an acknowledgement and congratulatory email to our whole SYL community for making the 2019 YL Inspiration Awards a huge success! Because of you, we had 19 nominations and 4 super deserving winners who were presented their respective awards and prizes at the end of May. Of course, we also want to send a huge THANK YOU to our CEO/GM’s that stepped forward and graciously gave their time to select the winners.

To acknowledge those that were nominated (GREAT job CU employees – you’re awesome!) and those that won, below is a short summary of the categories:

YL Inspiration Leadership Award Nominees:

  • Ally Pilkey
  • Ashley Betker
  • Brenna Scott
  • Dajana Benic
  • Jenna Wall
  • Naomi Seaborg
  • Taylor Kaufmann

YL Inspiration Leadership Award Winner:

  • Naomi Seaborg – Congratulations again, Naomi!! 

YL Inspiration Community Involvement Award Nominees:

  • Alex Roettger
  • Brittany Halkyard
  • Cody Podhordeski
  • Malina Combres
  • Meagan Sparks

YL Inspiration Community Involvement Award Winner:

  • Alex Roettger – Congratulations again, Alex!!

YL Inspiration Innovation & Collaboration Award Nominees:

  • Brittany Halkyard
  • Jordan McFarlen
  • Kali Gillanders
  • Victoria Lajeunesse

YL Inspiration Innovation & Collaboration Award Winner:

  • Jordan McFarlen – Congratulations again, Jordan!!

YL Inspiration Member Impact Award Nominees:

  • Joel Graham
  • Jodi Arling
  • Shayla Riche

YL Inspiration Member Impact Award Winner:

  • Joel Graham – Congratulations again, Joel!!

Once again we would like to thank each and every one of you for making our first Young Leader Inspiration Awards night a huge success and for taking the time to recognize your CU colleagues for the amazing work that they do each and every day. We are looking forward to continuing this event in years to come and can’t wait to see how it takes off!

If anyone has any questions regarding the nomination/voting process, please feel free to reach out to our committee!